Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday (73)


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill of Breaking the Spine where book bloggers devote a post to an upcoming book release they are particularly looking forward to. This week I have two titles I am particularly looking forward to reading.


How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski
May 7, 2013
Simon Pulse
First she lost her heart. Then she lost her mind. And now she's on a road trip to win back her ex. This debut novel's packed with drama and romance!

Rosie's always been impulsive. She didn't intend to set her cheating ex-boyfriend's car on fire. And she never thought her attempts to make amends could be considered stalking. So whens she's served with a temporary restraining order on the first day of summer vacation, she's heartbroken--and furious.

To put distance between Rosie and her ex, Rosie's parents send her on a cross-country road trip with responsible, reliable neighbor Matty and his two friends. Forget freedom of the road, Rosie wants to hitchhike home and win back her ex. But her determination starts to dwindle with each passing mile. Because Rosie's spark of anger? It may have just ignited a romance with someone new…
Right when I first heard about How My Summer Went Up in Flames I knew I had to read this book. This story just sounds like an incredible amount of fun but also like one where there might be something a little more serious going on. Also there's a road trip. That's all I really needed to know in order to know I have to read this book.



The Rules for Disappearing by Ashley Elston
May 14, 2013
Disney-Hyperion
She's been six different people in six different places: Madeline in Ohio, Isabelle in Missouri, Olivia in Kentucky…But now that she's been transplanted to rural Louisiana, she has decided that this fake identity will be her last. 

Witness Protection has taken nearly everything from her. But for now, they've given her a new name, Megan Rose Jones, and a horrible hair color. For the past eight months, Meg has begged her father to answer one question: What on earth did he do--or see--that landed them in this god-awful mess? Meg has just about had it with all the Suits' rules--and her dad's silence. If he won't help, it's time she got some answers for herself. 

But Meg isn't counting on Ethan Landry, an adorable Louisiana farm boy who's too smart for his own good. He knows Meg is hiding something big. And it just might get both of them killed. As they embark on a perilous journey to free her family once and for all, Meg discovers that there's only one rule that really matters--survival.
This story sounds like it has the potential to have the perfect mix of romance and mystery. The synopsis for The Rules for Disappearing truly has me intrigued. I want to know why this girl is in the Witness Protection Program and I want to know why she's in danger. I guess I'll have to wait until May to figure it out!



Five Summers by Una LaMarche
May 16, 2013
Razorbill
Four best friends, five summers of camp memories.

The summer we were nine: Emma was branded "Skylar's friend Emma" by the infamous Adam Loring…

The summer we were ten: Maddie realized she was too far into her lies to think about telling the truth…

The summer we were eleven: Johanna totally freaked out during her first game of Spin the Bottle…

The summer we were twelve: Skylar's love letters from her boyfriend back home were exciting to all of us--except Skylar…

Our last summer together: Emma and Adam almost kissed. Jo found out Maddie's secret. Skylar did something unthinkable…and whether we knew it then or not, I've summers of friendship began to fall apart.

Three years after the fateful last night of camp, the four of us are coming back to camp for reunion weekend--and for a second chance. 

Bittersweet, funny, and achingly honest, Five Summers is a story of friendship, love, and growing up that is perfect for fans of Anne Brashares and Judy Blume's Summer Sisters.
Anne Brashares' Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants were among the first YA books I ever read, so being told Five Summers is perfect for fans of that author just makes me want to read it even more. The synopsis also totally piqued my curiosity--I want to know what happened that last summer that changed everything. And any book about summer camp is a good book if you ask me.


If you couldn't tell from these books or a fair amount of my posts recently, I LOVE contemporary. If anything, contemporary is probably my favorite genre so I'm excited about all the great contemps that seem to be coming out this year. Maybe this is the year contemporary makes a comeback? Even if it doesn't quite make a comeback, I'm hoping these three books won't disappoint me. 

 photo signature.png

4 comments:

  1. I saw HMSWUIF last week and thought she was a nutcase! Rosie is the kind of girl you want to know from a distance so your car is safe! Haha.

    I'm not the biggest contemporary fan, though I have been reading more and more of it lately. And the Rules for Disappearing sounds like the perfect replacement for the Gallagher Girls series which is going to end, though I have the feeling this may be a stand alone :(

    Great picks though, Emilie!

    Ellen @ Elle-Osophy

    My WOW post

    ReplyDelete
  2. Five Summers sounds awesome. I really do want to read it. I enjoyed Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants so it totally caught my eye.

    ReplyDelete
  3. All 3 are such great picks. I love contemporaries, and I'm always looking for a new one.

    Jennifer
    My WOW

    ReplyDelete
  4. They all three sound amazing, I just love contemporaries. I added them to my TBR.

    El
    My WOW

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts with Thumbnails