Monday, October 6, 2014

Blog Tour - Not in the Script by Amy Finnegan


Title: Not in the Script (If Only... #3)
Author: Amy Finnegan
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Release Date: October 7, 2014
Source: ARC from Publisher
Buy the Book: Amazon / Book Depository / Indigo
Millions of people witnessed Emma Taylor’s first kiss—a kiss that needed twelve takes and four camera angles to get right. After spending nearly all of her teen years performing on cue, Emma wonders if any part of her life is real anymore…particularly her relationships.

Jake Elliott’s face is on magazine ads around the world, but his lucrative modelling deals were a poor substitute for what he had to leave behind. Now acting is offering Jake everything he wants: close proximity to home; an opportunity to finally start school; and plenty of time with the smart and irresistible Emma Taylor…if she would just give him a chance.

When Jake takes Emma behind the scenes of his real life, she begins to see how genuine he is, but on-set relationships always end badly. Don’t they? Toss in Hollywood’s most notorious heartthrob and a resident diva who may or may not be as evil as she seems, and the production of Coyote Hill heats up in unexpected—and romantic—ways.

This novel in the deliciously fun If Only romance line proves that the best kinds of love stories don’t follow a script.

Fun and flirty YA contemporary romances are absolutely my favourite. There is nothing I don’t love about them. They just always make me happy. So it really shouldn’t be a surprise that I loved Amy Finnegan’s Not In the Script. Because I loved it A LOT.

Since she was twelve years old,e very one has known what was going on in Emma Taylor’s life. It’s what happens when you work in the entertainment industry. Now, though, Emma wonders how much of her life has been real. When you first kiss was essentially choreographed, how do you know if your romances have been real? She doesn’t have a great track record when it comes to boys, but when Emma meets Jake, her co-star on her new TV show, she thinks her luck might be changing. Except Emma has sown off on-set relationships. But Jake seems to be just the guy she needs.

Fun main character, swoon-worthy boys, cute romance, drama and movies stars, Not In the Script had it all. I absolutely loved Amy Finnegan’s debut. Based on the premise, I had a pretty good feeling I would enjoy Not In the Script. I mean, it sounded like a total “Emilie book.” I just hadn’t anticipated loving it as much as I did. When I sat down and started reading I figured I would just read a couple chapters. But that’s not what happened. Not even close. Instead, the next thing I knew it was dark and I had about 100 pages left to read. Not In the Script was an addictive story. I wanted to keep reading and see what would happen between Emma and Jake. I loved seeing their relationship develop because it was jut the kind of romance I love. There was immediate attraction between them, but it was also a slow burn kind of romance. Emma and Jake were friends long before they were something more. And I loved it. Almost as much as I loved Jake and Emma themselves.

I loved that I got to rad this story from both Jake and Emma’s perspectives because it meant I got to know both of them really well. They were definitely different, but at the same time they were so right for each other. Right from the start they had a connection and I loved seeing them both struggle with how they felt about the other. And of course the back and forth banter between Emma and Jake was also pretty awesome. I just loved what each one brought. Emma had been in the entertainment industry for so long that she didn’t really know who she was anymore, while Jake just wanted to do whatever he needed to in order to help his mom. So it was great to see Jake help Emma see what she really wanted for herself, and Emma in turn helped Jake figure out how to get out of this industry he didn’t really want to be in in the first place. All that to say, I really loved Emma and Jake, and apparently putting how much into words is proving to be difficult. So just read Not In the Script and hopefully you’ll fall in love with Jake and Emma as much as I did.

I was surprised by how much I loved Amy Finnegan’s Not In the Script. It was a fantastically fun read with just the right amount of love, drama and humour. And I LOVED every single page.

 photo signature.png

3 comments:

  1. I love light, fun contemporary romances too, and so do our teens! Would this one be good for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jennifer E. Smith?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This would be perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jennifer E. Smith! It has the same kind of lighthearted romance mixed in with some deeper issues.

      Delete
    2. Awesome! Thanks for the recommendation!

      Delete

Related Posts with Thumbnails